Adwords Click Through Rate: How To Improve Yours

Not getting the level of traffic from Google Adwords that you expected? Here's some practical help to improve your Adwords click through rate (CTR) so you can start to generate qualified traffic from search engines to your landing pages. Organise Your Adwords Campaigns Per Impression, Per Lead, Per Acquisition.

One key factor in improving your Adwords click through rate is differentiating between the different purposes of search campaigns. There are three reasons why you would invest in PPC:

  1. Brand awareness
  2. Lead generation
  3. Customer acquisition


Once you understand your business goals and decide on a campaign, your ads, keywords, message and call to action should be built around one single purpose, to maximise your Adwords click through rate and quality score.

Adwords gives you three marketing options to choose from and it's up to you to decide which is best for your campaign...

  1. Cost per thousand impressions (CPM) - good if you're running a blog with external advertising
  2. Cost per lead (CPL) - if your sales process starts on your website but cannot be completed there, e.g. bespoke solutions
  3. Cost per acquisition (CPA) - someone clicks on your ad, visits your website and signs up for a newsletter or places an order

Choosing whether to use CPM, CPL or CPA largely depends on the nature of your business, but it also depends on the specifics campaign you run in Google Adwords.

Here are 3 examples of how a business can choose different campaign options in Google Adwords:

Your business installs bespoke kitchens, and sells a range of kitchen appliances. You run a campaign to increase brand awareness and opt for the CPM structure with broad keywords. You'll want to keep the daily spend relatively low.


At the same time, you're marketing a new range of products with the option to complete the purchase on your website, and you will use the per acquisition (CPA) model. Your keywords should be specifically targeted to people already looking to buy. You'll want to spend a bit more here.

For your bespoke kitchen installation service, where your customers can specify their requirements on your website but the actual sale takes place in their home, you will use the per lead (CPL) structure. Again, target people looking to buy and set your daily spend accordingly.

Ideally you would run a mix of these, to keep developing your brand awareness for long term sales, and marketing your current line for immediate results.

Adapt To Your Audience

Even if your ads are on the first page, that doesn't necessarily mean you will also get results. The most important aspect of your ad campaign is your message, which needs to be concise and engaging.

Write them from the view point of potential customers: what would encourage your target market to click your ad, rather than your competitors'?

In order to get your message across and improve Adwords click through rate, you will have to spend considerable time re-wording and re-working your messages. Ads that go straight to the punch get more clicks, but you need to be specific, too. Regularly review all your ads and keep improving on your messages in order to enhance your Adwords click through rate.

AdWords Quality Score

Your click through rate affects your Adwords Quality Score. If you have a maximum bid of £1,50 and an AQS of 10 (the score can be between 1 and 10), and your competitor bids £4,00 but has a score of 6, your ad will be shown even though you're paying less than your competitor.

Improving your ads and Adwords click through rate not only generates more business, it also has the potential of reducing your search marketing costs over time.

Three Tips To Improve Your Adwords Click Through Rate

  1. Keep your ads per adgroup to the bare minimum Because ads in the same adgroup compete against each other, your time is best spent creating two or three great ads that speak to your audience. Analyse which ads are performing well and why, and build on their success.

2. Consider your call to action Offer a solution to a problem instead of simply promoting your product or service. 'Save 20% on your weekend trip to Paris' is far more effective than 'Click here for Paris weekend breaks'.

3. Continuously review your campaigns Although time consuming, success in Adwords click through rates largely depends on continuous analysis of keyword performance, adgroup performance, and applying your insights to your campaigns. Search trends change constantly, and your competitors work hard to improve on their results, too.

Are you generating good success with your Adwords click through rate?

Are your clicks translating into business profit?

3 Ways To Improve Your Adwords Campaign Today

Looking to improve your Adwords campaign to increase business profits?

Here are 3 steps to improve your Adwords campaign to drive quality traffic to your website, generate more leads and convert more visitors into buying customers.

1. Target The Right People

Getting your advert out there is great for brand awareness, but you want to generate new business, too. So target people who are already looking to buy with 'action' search phrases. Examples include:

  • Buy
  • Order
  • Register
  • Custom made
  • Bespoke
  • Save
  • Pay less
  • Reduce

Make sure these action search phrases are in your ads, too.

You need to understand where and when to target your ads. If you run a local business and only serve a close radius, restrict your ads to local search only. You can also use campaign scheduling to show your ads only at times when when your potential customers are online searching for your product or service.

2. Constantly Improve Your Ads And Keywords

Your competitors are working just as hard on their campaigns are you are, so just because your ads are performing well today that's not to say they will keep performing tomorrow. Stay ahead of the competition and constantly check and improve your ads and keywords, building on those that work and pausing or removing those that don't.

Use a mixture of keyword matchings to improve your click through rate, generate leads and acquire new customers, while improving your Adwords Quality Score at the same time.

3. Optimise Your Landing Pages For Conversion

Your Adwords campaign and your landing pages should be seen as a whole, so when you generate traffic your landing page should match your Adwords ads. Be consistent in your message, focus on the product or service you're advertising, and keep your completion process as simple as possible.

Look For More Ways To Improve Your Adwords Campaign

These three ways to improve your Adwords campaign will positively impact your Adwords Quality Score. And a higher score means better page ranking, more leads and a lower cost per click.

But this is only scratching the surface.

Those that have experience using Google Adwords understand that it's no easy feat to generate significant and sustainable profits. You need to constantly test, measure and refine all aspects to improve your Adwords campaign.

Do you use Google Adwords for your business?

Is it delivering the results you expect, or demand, as a business owner?

Reduce Adwords Spend With These 4 Powerful Tactics

Every business owner is looking for ways to make their budget stretch further.

If you're using, or thinking of using, Google Adwords to market your business, then you'll want to implement these 4 tactics to reduce Adwords spend straight away.

Less spend equals more money for clicks - and more customers through the door!

1. Analyse Your Cost Per Revenue

Because Adwords is effectively one large auction house and the demand for clicks on Google rises continuously, your campaign spend will keep going up.

There are ways to reduce Adwords spend and at the same time maintain campaign performance – we'll look at cost per click (CPC) and two options to reduce costs.

For example, a CPC of £1 with a conversion rate of 2% and a value of £250 will result in a cost per revenue (CPR) of 20%. This means that for every pound spent on Adwords leads you see a five pound return.

You could reduce Adwords spend with a CPC decrease. When improvements to the CPC campaign causes a drop to £0.90 this will result in a CPR of 18%. This creates the possibility of reducing the budget by 10% without affecting return.

Tip: Choose long tail keywords. They're often inexpensive and highly targeted.

Alternatively, increase the Conversion Ratio and value. When the CPC remains at £1, because you've made considerable improvements to your website, the conversion ration increases to 2.2% meaning the conversion value rises to £275. The CPR also decreases to 18%. Again, this creates the option to reduce the budget by 10% without affecting return.

Tip: Improve your Quality Score by re-working your ads and paying extra attention to your landing pages.

2. Lower Your Cost Per Click (CPC) To Decrease Your Spend

Following on from step 1, when the Quality Score has gone up, you can safely lower CPCs without risking a decrease in traffic. However, if your Quality Score isn't perfected, there are still possibilities for lowering your cost per click. Try:

  • Lower the CPC of expensive keywords
  • Pause expensive keywords or reduce the budget and use the reduction on less expensive keywords
  • Use Exact Phrasing or Phrase Matching for expensive keywords and avoid Broad Matching – the former tend to be less expensive
  • Avoid bidding on expensive keywords: often you will find that with a little research, a different keyword with equal or slightly lower traffic costs less, but yield the same or better results

3. Reduce Adwords Spend By Avoiding Expensive And Irrelevant Actions

If your campaigns run 24/7, you're likely spending more than you need. Research when your target audience uses Google - weekdays, weekends, day time, evenings - and schedule your campaigns accordingly. This will reduce Adwords spend as clicks won't occur at times when your target audience is online, searching for your solutions.

This is especially relevant for campaigns with larger budgets and higher spends per ad group. Campaigns to improve your brand awareness can be run at times outside of the core activity time frame of your audience - as long as you keep the overall budget relatively small and the average spend down.

4. Exclude Visitors And Devices To Reduce Adwords Spend

Utilise negative keywords to prevent your ads being shown on search query results which have little or no direct value to your business. This will not only reduce Adwords spend, but also increase your click through rate.

You may also want to exclude visitors from irrelevant locations with geo-targeting. If your business operates exclusively in London, it makes sense to show your ads only in search query results from London.

If your web-infrastructure isn't optimised for mobile devices and similar, exclude those devices. However, if your website isn't mobile-friendly, you should seriously consider getting it fixed as more and more customers are using smart phones and tablets to access the internet. You wouldn't want to lose out on those opportunities.

Excluding visitors and scheduling your campaigns has an immediate effect but, unsurprisingly, if you're looking to reduce Adwords spend while safeguarding results, you're in for a long-term game.

However, with a little perseverance and lots of attention to detail you can make your Adwords budget go a lot further.

Is your Google Adwords campaign running at peak performance?